Recent Reviews

Felicia L. Avatar

5 star rating Bolognese, chick parm and the veal mushroom dinner is all soo phenomenal! I love the dark ambiance, the music is not too loud, the waitstaff are so friendly and professional. Love this place.

Felicia L. 1/12/2020
Rhonda F. Avatar

5 star rating I have to say - I really do love Carmine's and everything about it. This neighborhood spot is big and bustling and is ran old school style.A huge street front presence, Carmine's looks fantastic as you approach and offers the best people watching in town. Rush Street is always jumping, no matter the day of the week.Service is always impeccable from the host desk to service to management. The reservation process is easy. When I arrive the hosts always greet me immediately and seat me quickly. My servers have always been on top of their game offering attentive service even during the most busy evenings. Then there is the Managers. They know how to run a big ship and still make each customer feel appreciated.The cuisine is interesting and memorable. Homemade pasta that melts in your mouth, sauces to dream about and decadent desserts that leave you with a smile. Satisfaction is always the end result.

Rhonda F. 1/12/2020
Ann Smilgys Avatar

This place is happening. Excellent service, excellent food except the baked clams. They were teeny,tiny. For 12.95 they should give you more than 6 or get bigger clams. Also, the clam chowder needed salt. I will go back, though. Love the atmosphere, huge bar, friendly bartenders. One more thing, they need purse hooks under the bar.

Ann Smilgys 1/11/2020
Thomas Raar Avatar

Fantastic service. We knew from before that the portions are enormous, so we asked to have them split. The staff was accommodating and the food was great!

Thomas Raar 1/09/2020
David Avery Avatar

I admire this venue very much. It has a different spirit. The cuisine is good. the service is powerful and the stuff is friendly. The cost is decent. I warmly recommend.

David Avery 1/08/2020
W J. Avatar

5 star rating Calamari, Baked ziti, lamb chops our lunch was great! Love this place when feeling Italian in the city!

W J. 1/08/2020
Thaddeus Bennett Avatar

Very neat and welcoming restaurant. They serve large portions and for affordable rates. I loved the food very much and the staff members were very friendly and informative. Will definitely recommend this restaurant.

Thaddeus Bennett 1/05/2020
Chicago Enthusiast Avatar

Probably one of the best Italian restaurants in all of Chicago. The food is fantastic, proportions are very large and the service is always good. I've been coming here for over 25 years and I have never had a bad meal. Side note: Try their Pizza. You don't hear much about it, but it's very good.

Chicago Enthusiast 1/05/2020
Conni B. Avatar

4 star rating I thought the food was just decent (no one had steak so that may be where we went wrong) but wanted to say the service was the best in memory.  Our server Tim was absolutely amazing! He was funny, professional,  knowledgeable about the menu, and treated the three teens with me like ladies. The entire staff was kind and attentive. I loved that they held our leftovers in a fridge until after the Theater.

Conni B. 1/04/2020
Jimmy G. Avatar

5 star rating Awesome experience! Nicely decorated for the holidays. Good food and our server Doug was very knowledgeable and friendly

Jimmy G. 1/03/2020
Ashley R. Avatar

5 star rating Went for NYE dinner with friends and we were so pleased with everything!! The appetizers were great! We all enjoyed our entrees, the portions were huge! So made for great leftovers. The wine and mixed drinks were perfect. And we were pleasantly surprised with the pricing! We will for sure be back again!

Ashley R. 1/03/2020
Brian Zimmermann Avatar

Quality Italian meal with old school waitress who was great. Would highly recommend. Oysters were very fresh and the Italian wedding soup homemade. A bit of a quieter atmosphere but nothing wrong with that for a romantic night out!

Brian Zimmermann 1/02/2020
Micah Scott Avatar

This place sure knows how to take care of their clients. Regularly with a friendly demeanor. The food is reasonably priced, regularly yummy and neat.

Micah Scott 1/02/2020
Danny C. Avatar

4 star rating Definitely one of our faves in Chicago!  Went in with Sin and Grandson.  Ordered Spaghetti, Arrabbiata, and Cavatelli!  Oh...and Meatballs!  Not one of us could finish!  The pasta is fresh and it's for sure homemade!  The sauce is plentiful and delicious!  Oh my gosh we're all rolling here.  Like bowling balls!  Sooo good!  I'll be back.  Next time I'll do something other than pasta!

Danny C. 1/02/2020
Michelle R. Avatar

4 star rating Needing a little mid afternoon pick me up my friend and our 3 daughters ended up at Rosebud. We walked right in and were seated immediately. We had many deserts to chose from. Upon our servers advice we settled on the Godiva mousse cake and the tiramisu. Against her advice we also ordered the spumoni bomb. She underestimated our desert eating abilities. We proved her wrong and completely polished off all 3 deserts with no problem. Go for a rest and stay for desert. Our service could have been more prompt and utensils/napkins are always a plus without having to ask.

Michelle R. 1/02/2020
Tiara R. Avatar

5 star rating Went on a double date for NYE dinner and Rosebud did not disappoint! Everything was phenomenal from the food and ambience to their service. Our waiters name was Webster and he was fantastic! He made excellent food suggestions and treated us so kindly. Our table had a little of everything which included: Chicken Parmesan, Bone- In Rib Eye, Filet Minon, Baked Mac and Cheese, Brussel Sprouts w/ Bacon, Lobster, and Jalepeno Hashbrowns. Everything tasted amazing. 10/10 hands down. I will definitely be returning and this place has easily made it to my "top 10 restaurants" list.

Tiara R. 1/02/2020
Spirit19 Agronomoff Avatar

😋 Lip Smacking Yum City
Staff was Friendly & Wonderful
Philly The Manager Is The Bomb Dot Com
Had Shrimp Asparagus Risotto which was 😋 Lip Smacking Yum City
Fried Calamari was not a lot a breading & melted in your mouth. Oh Yum 😋
Linguine & Clams was Delicious.
The Tiramisu is Out Of This World
Highly Highly Recommend This Place

Spirit19 Agronomoff 1/01/2020
Ashley S. Avatar

4 star rating Great steakhouse! Food was delicious and the service was excellent! With it being our first time our waiter gave wonderful recommendations! We both got filets and for our appetizer, we ordered the seafood platter (lobster, oysters, shrimp, crab leg) very very good!

Ashley S. 1/01/2020
Joshua Bannister Avatar

I had a fantastic in this place. We enjoyed the nice vibes and the menu. The waiters are very friendly. I’m happy we finally decided to visit this spot.

Joshua Bannister 12/31/2019
Linnea F. Avatar

4 star rating We were looking for a brunch spot that didn't have a super long wait and we stumbled upon Rosebud. There was a brief wait, but they actually got us seated within 5 minutes. I ordered the breakfast quesadilla which was delicious, and my friend got the fruit plate which was served in a hallowed put pineapple! It was beautifully displayed! I can't speak to lunch or dinner here, but it seemed like a nice spot!

Linnea F. 12/26/2019
Jerry N. Avatar

5 star rating rosebuds (taylor or rush) is always a MUST stop for me when in chicago.  I love their foodsausage and peppers appetizer is incredible.their Vesuvio style dishes rock my world.

Jerry N. 12/26/2019
Tom M. Avatar

4 star rating We had brunch here the last 5 years we've been coming downtown for our Christmas shopping weekend.  Never quite made it for a dinner yet, we love the brunch.  I also don't know why I haven't rated it before, couldn't find to do an update.I don't know why Hostesses do this, I guess they are told to...We've always had a table in the upstairs dining room by the windows but this Sunday they were sitting everyone on the patio/sidewalk.  The hostess told us the upstairs dining room is never open on Sundays but 5 years previous it was.  The patio is heated but not well regulated. Extremely hot, then comfortable then hot...we should have seated in the downstairs dining area.We always get the Crab Cake Benedict and a Bloody Mary.  The Crab Cake Benedict is very good as always but the Bloody Mary was off this Sunday morning.  It was good but different from others we've had.We will be back next year and maybe we'll check out the dinner menu.

Tom M. 12/26/2019
Danny C. Avatar

4 star rating Carmines...I'd heard of it before but tonight was the first experience.  Got the baked sea bass on a bed of spinach w capers and a lemon butter sauce!  Holy moly!  That was soooo good!  And we ordered a pepperoni pizza.  Frankly that pizza is straight up legit, and there's something really yummy about it!    I'm not from around here but it's nice to know that if I am at O'Hare I've got a nice place to eat!  The staff was friendly and very accommodating!  I'd 4.5 this if I could

Danny C. 12/26/2019
Lawrence R. Avatar

5 star rating Stopped in here on Christmas Eve and left as full as could be. All the entrees and sides are really meant for two people  if you order and entree or side for yourself be prepared  to take food home with unless you are very hungry. The staff is also really great and attentive.

Lawrence R. 12/24/2019
Yanni Gust Avatar

This place is so good! If you come here just keep in mind that the portions are very big. Michael was a great server, and I highly recommend him! Kudos to you Michael

Yanni Gust 12/22/2019
Denise Scholte Avatar

Food was great getting a table not so go. Had reservation for 7:30 pm but didn't get seated until after 8pm. Could have done better. Got told they over booked. Not a good practice to even tell a customer that but should have planed ahead knowing there was a reservation for 8.

Denise Scholte 12/21/2019
Lisa Phillips Avatar

Excellent food all the way around. The steak was cooked perfectly medium as I ordered. Was juicy and full of flavor. The sides were all very good as well. We had appetizers, all were great, but my ABSOLUTE favorite was the sausage and peppers. Make sure you're ready to drop some $$$, it's pricey, but well worth the money for the food and the atmosphere.

Lisa Phillips 12/19/2019
Kenzie M. Avatar

5 star rating Amazing italian restaurant! The food was absolutely delicious and there service was excellent. I would highly recommend the chicken Parmesan and the fettuccini Alfredo. It's also decorated beautifully for Christmas!!!

Kenzie M. 12/19/2019
Leland Allison Avatar

They offer a large range of delicious food. I love eating here. Staff members are always friendly, prices are affordable and the spot is always kept clean.

Leland Allison 12/18/2019
Heidi A. Avatar

4 star rating Delicious!! We used to frequent this restaurant all the time back in early 2000's and it was our special place to go. It has not changed much but the food is delicious, service great, and ambiance nice and romantic.We had Mamas Meatball Salad and shared that- I am still wanting more of this, so good but huge!! My husband had a Chilean Sea Bass special with fettuccine Alfredo, I had the Rigatoni Vodka. The meal was delicious but it was a lot of food- next time we may get the salad again and one entree and share.

Heidi A. 12/15/2019
Lauri P. Avatar

5 star rating Caitlin, our server, made our family dinner (party of 12) absolutely outstanding.  Her ability to connect with each guest really impressed our three birthday celebrants and the other family members.  The brick chicken is suitable for sharing, as is the Cobb salad.  The prime rib is excellent.  The desserts, particularly the mile-high chocolate cake and the crem brûlée, were both tasty and generous.  Carmines is a special place, thanks to the service, food and decor.

Lauri P. 12/15/2019
Jene S. Avatar

5 star rating Creme Brulee was excellent!!! Forgot to add to previous review. When I come back to the windy city we be 1st place we stop.

Jene S. 12/15/2019
Greg Koszut Avatar

This is absolutely a divine restaurant! The service was impeccable and every single thing we tried was unbelievably amazing. The Delmonico ribeye was to die for! We were here as part of a larger group and this is a great place to enjoy great food with great people! I can also very highly recommend the spumoni dessert! Enjoy this place at your soonest opportunity!

Greg Koszut 12/14/2019
Kendall M. Avatar

5 star rating Excellent recommendation from my friend Joan and Derrik. The vodka sauce is legendary. I have to begin by saying the host, servers and sommelier were all extremely accommodating and patient. After changing our reservation time over the phone a total of 4 times, the staff was all really helpful and kind.We began by splitting salads and the eggplant stack. I criticize the Caesar slightly, as I found it to be underdressed. The eggplant stack, a dish I would typically be trepidatious of ordering, was actually quite good. I liked the thin, crispy layers of eggplant, tomato and mozzarella- this was a surprising hit. I believe the vodka sauce that came on my rigatoni was among the best I've ever had! It was well balanced and just creamy enough, filled with a lovely tomato basil flavor. I highly recommend this dish. The Italian red wine we order was a really nice accompaniment to our meal. We sat downstairs in a cozy half booth and our servers were patient with us as we came late at night and were slightly too rowdy for the scene.The chocolate martinis were extremely well made. I love ending with a chocolate martini, it was evident these were crafted with white chocolate Godiva liquor- the best! 5 stars for Rosebud- keep up the great work!

Kendall M. 12/14/2019
Rebecca F. Avatar

5 star rating All of the locations in the Carmine'/Rosebud restaurant group are fabulous. The food is generously portioned and they use high-end ingredients. You really get a lot of value for your money. My favorite dish of all time is the Rosebud Fish Salad. The one we had yesterday at the Rosemont location was the best I've ever had. Colossal shrimp, giant chucks of tender, delicious octopus, and tender and generous portions of scungilli all seasoned to perfection! I could kiss the chef for a fish salad that good. Thanks!

Rebecca F. 12/12/2019
James Cook Avatar

I meet with friends this nice place quite a bit! This is the best place to dine. I visit this spot regularly. The cooking is very tasty, the staff members are welcoming and the rates are affordable. I like being in this spot over a rich lunch.

James Cook 12/11/2019
Ellie Truebenbach Avatar

Always such a treat! Some of the best service you can get, and manager is very personable. Great food! I’d highly recommend!

Ellie Truebenbach 12/09/2019
Elisio Sapata Avatar

Outstanding steakhouse! Outstanding service!
Family oriented. Great menu!
We had Meno serve us . He was a gift.

We couldn’t of been more fortunate. A table of 13, and the service was impeccable.
I had the Chilean sea bass special , which I would highly recommend!

Thank you Meno! Thank you Rose bud!

Elisio Sapata 12/08/2019
Jessica R. Avatar

4 star rating My husband and I were looking for a brunch place near our hotel. The place we planned to go to had too long of a wait so we noticed Rosebud. Weren't too sure at first since its Italian, and we wanted breakfast but we stopped in. The decor for Christmas was beautiful. Our waiter was very professional and attentive. The food was excellent! My husband had the breakfast quesadilla and I had the Florentine Benedict. Lots of food for the price. Our mimosas were a lot more expensive than we expected, but a great experience nonetheless.

Jessica R. 12/07/2019
M B. Avatar

5 star rating the house salad, bolognese, scallop special are just a few great things i love about Rosebud! Great atmosphere and good servers and managers. 10/10 recommend

M B. 12/06/2019
Donna H. Avatar

5 star rating Such a great sport for a business lunch. This is the perfect spot in Rosemont to meet clients. The ambiance is classic old school Italian. The waitstaff are knowledgeable and seasoned. The food is fantastic. I actually wanted something on the lighter side and ordered the appetizer eggplant stack! I wish I would have taken a pic...it was acrually two stacked of crispy eggplant, beefsteak tomatoes and frEsh mozzarella drizzled with  balsamic glaze and arugula. Yum. Try it!

Donna H. 12/04/2019
Tony Palmer Avatar

Absolutely fantastic! We all shared each other's meal and everything was absolutely Fantastic? Great service.

Tony Palmer 12/03/2019
Mary A. Avatar

5 star rating I haven't been here in so long and am glad my friend decided on Rosebud for lunch. We came in on a Tuesday afternoon for lunch. Service was good and so was the food. Lunch portions are a great size and decently priced. The restaurant was not too busy and we were seated immediately. Can't wait to come back!

Mary A. 12/03/2019
Mark W. Avatar

5 star rating At the recommendation of a friend, my wife and I decided to try Roaebuds.  It was busy, yet  intimate and and quaint.  We shared a salad as well as the lasagna.  Both were fantastic!   The salad was much larger than we anticipated, and the lasagna was sufficient enough for us to share and be satisfied.  The lasagna was creamy and delicious!

Mark W. 12/03/2019
D H. Avatar

4 star rating We were going to scope out this Viagra Triangle and came across this place. All of a sudden, we had a craving for Italian food, and decided to give it a shot. We were seated quickly and the service was great. Several of the waiters checked on us religiously and were very nice. We all ordered different pastas so we could try them all. Man I really was hoping for a wow factor but it just wasn't there. I was bummed. I had some high hopes for this but it failed me. It was just okay. Def a basic B kinda pasta and that was it. I tried my colleagues' pastas, as well, and again, nothing special. I'm gonna keep swiping until I find my keeper. And then came the dessert- hence the 4 stars. I am definitely a crème brûlée connoisseur. This is one that I will keep dreaming about. The ratio of custard to the strawberry to the nicely burnt candy layer of deliciousness was perfect. If anything, I will be back for this! My mouth was definitely coming!

D H. 12/02/2019
Chrissa G. Avatar

5 star rating Excellent service! Excellent quality of food! I'm not sure why people are giving such low ratings. Best Italian food place in town!

Chrissa G. 12/01/2019
Sherry M. Avatar

5 star rating I have eaten at Rosebud's several times and have thoroughly enjoyed my meal every time!  The various appetizers, entrees and wine I have ordered were delicious! The restaurant is cozy and the staff is very proficient and friendly.  I definitely will be dining here again!

Sherry M. 12/01/2019
Dan N. Avatar

4 star rating This is an excellent steakhouse in downtown Chicago. All the steaks our table ordered were cooked based on how they were ordered. Great steak! Just a caution that portions are huge. If you order a wedge salad it's double the size of a normal wedge. Desserts are also shareable. Wait staff was very attentive. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is this is a very noisy restaurant. We had a big group  and you could not carry on a conversation with people on the other end of table. I would recommend to dine here with 4 people or 4 people with 4 kids where you do not need to carry on a conversation with the kids.

Dan N. 11/30/2019
Joan K. Avatar

5 star rating Went with a group of my girlfriends for our Christmas dinner. Everything about the place was fantastic. The staff could not have been nicer from the waitresses to the hostesses. You can tell they care about everyone who comes in. Our food was so delish. I had the Chicken Marsala which was very good. Three of my friends had the lasagna which they all enjoyed. Portions were very large, we all brought food home. Desserts were excellent, we ordered one of each dessert and enjoyed them all. Will absolutely be coming back here. Not sure why anyone complained about noise as I though the ambience was great. I don't like restaurants to be too quiet, it felt very lively and fun. Also prices were very much what I would expect to pay at a quality Italian restaurant. Very happy to have this nice restaurant in my neighborhood!!

Joan K. 11/30/2019
Kristin Reynolds Avatar

Another Chicago favorite of mine. I have been here several times over the years and I have always had a great experience. The inside is quaint and pleasing to the eye. Outside is always a joy if you can get seated there. As usual, the food is amazing and the service outstanding. Go out of my way to try something new every visit and I have always left thrilled. Highly recommended.

Kristin Reynolds 11/28/2019
Mauro Menconi Avatar

Amazing experience. Food portions are really generous. I came here starving and couldn't even finish half of what I ordered. Two people can share. Very good. Service was great (Cesar was our waiter).

Mauro Menconi 11/27/2019
Johnny Ducati Avatar

Rosebud Prime was a fantastic place to stop for a meal after a show. We really liked the food and atmosphere. Convenient location would definitely recommend.

Johnny Ducati 11/26/2019
sharon bukowski Avatar

this was awesome, the food was fantastic and so was the service. we were on a tight time line and they got us in and out quickly. will definitely go back

sharon bukowski 11/23/2019
Ke L. Avatar

5 star rating I love Rosebud! The atmosphere is right for a romantic dinner. The food is absolutely delicious! Would go back again next month for another date night.

Ke L. 11/23/2019
Jasper K. Avatar

4 star rating Yes, it's a chain but I crave this Italian food when I'm at home and can't wait to go back. It's also in the Gold Coast and the pasta dishes are all flavorful. Get a table outside, it'll make you feel like you're in Italy.

Jasper K. 11/23/2019
Andrea Almazan Avatar

Tasty food and drinks. The portions were very large. John was our server tonight and provided excellent customer service. He didn’t rush us as we were visiting and enjoying the night with out of state family. We look forward to our next visit.

Andrea Almazan 11/22/2019
Javier Owen Avatar

The meals and service were above our expectations. We really liked the ambience of this restaurant. Fantastic restaurant to take my family out for lunch.

Javier Owen 11/21/2019
Bryce Oconnor Avatar

I meet with friends this nice place from time to time! This is my favorite spot to grab a bite. I visit this place routinely. The cooking is very good, the staff members are professional and the price is decent. I enjoy being in this spot over a nice lunch.

Bryce Oconnor 11/21/2019
David Z. Avatar

4 star rating Had to come to one of the few restaurants on Taylor Street on the Michelin guide since I live so close. Portion sizes are huge which is great, especially the pasta entrees. All the food was good. I got the chicken piccata and the sauce was phenomenal. Capers were slightly excessive but that wasn't a problem as they could just be pushed off to the side. The pasta that came with the chicken was good, pasta not mushy by any means but I'd prefer it a little more Al dente. Also, I wish the chicken was a little more browned. Overall, solid dish, the sauce was spectacular.

David Z. 11/21/2019
Jaime R. Avatar

4 star rating Delicious meal in a cozy atmosphere! Went with my mom on a Sunday night with a reservation. It probably was not needed as there was ample seating. They brought warm bread with olive oil and parm for dipping. We each had a house salad which was huge and very fresh. My mom had the rigatoni with vodka sauce and I ordered white fish but they were unfortunately out. I opted for the sea bass oreganato which was amazing! The portion was great and it came with roasted potatoes. Very garlicky and flavorful. Service was pretty good and we had a nice evening overall!

Jaime R. 11/19/2019