Recent Reviews

Denise Gonzalez Avatar

This was the best dining experience ever. Worth every penny. A must when visiting Chicago. Steaks are superb, sides were terrific & the drinks got us over the bliss finish line!

Denise Gonzalez 5/16/2021
Michael Clay AΦA1906 Avatar

Mother's Day Brunch was good, fast service and fresh ingredients. Weater was foul an we sat outside in a tent type structure. It was cool. Another Chicago Classic.

Michael Clay AΦA1906 5/15/2021
Jeremy Beard Avatar

Great food, drinks, service, and experience. HUGE portions FYI.

Jeremy Beard 5/15/2021
Javier Ruiz Avatar

Would have given a 5 if they still had bone-in chicken vesuvio .

Javier Ruiz 5/15/2021
Toi Drew Avatar

Rosebud has always been a great experience, our editor Luis was awesome very kind and attentive. Great place to eat if in Chicago 💯

Toi Drew 5/13/2021
George Aikens Avatar

Food was good, as usual. Service not so good.

George Aikens 5/13/2021
Michael Hellquist Avatar

Some of the best food I've ever had. The ambiance and staff were awesome. We we're seated promptly and we loved having the dishes described to us. Our meals were perfect. Drinks were awesome and Caesar was the best server. We will be back

Michael Hellquist 5/09/2021
Michelle Boatman Avatar

Lovely meal. Great staff. Our table had a window view and I can't wait to go again. We had the veal parm, my husband said it was delicious and I had the lobster ravioli, which I highly recommend.

Michelle Boatman 5/04/2021
Carole Sorensen Avatar

Stopped by this location for a quick bite and a snack and it did not disappoint. Our server made the experience so enjoyable I loved his energy! I love bloody Mary’s and theirs was one of my favorites in the city. A lot of options on the menu to appease anyone. Also love the patio overlooking the viagra triangle - great people watching and nice way to enjoy the weather / Get some sunlight! Can’t wait to come back and try more items on the menu thanks Carmines!

Carole Sorensen 5/04/2021
Yuliana Demid Avatar

When I read about this restaurant I thought “well, will try”. When we got to Chicago and were walking by, I was quite alert as the building looked so old, so out of the past century but very cute. We gave it a chance and it was worth it! Salads were so light and fresh slightly topped with a touch of sauce. Square noodles were covered with the most delicious tomato sauce we tried just like it was made from real tomatoes not the pasta sauce. Salmon was so tender and juicy in a butter lemon sauce but unlike in any other places it was with capers which added an incredible taste to the dish. Kids loved meatballs, they were also huge. By the way, never saw that big portions. We couldn’t finish it all although was sooo good! Treat from the restaurant was such a surprise for a birthday. We were filled not just with tasty food but with so incredibly pleasant emotions.

The reason I updated my review as my breakfast experience was not that great as dinner. Food was good but!!! What was unpleasant surprise at the end as every cup of refilled coffee was counted as a brand new even the one which was filled in half full cup. I don’t mind to pay by pots or pay for each cup of espresso..., but for brewed coffee which is refilled everywhere free of charge quite expensive. Our coffee for 2 turned for 30 $ with taxes and if we knew in advance probably we would drink less )

Yuliana Demid 5/04/2021
Cynthia Sienko Avatar

I love this location! Perfect distance from my house, very nice atmosphere, and everyone including our waiter Matt, made us their #1 priority. Can't wait to go back!

Cynthia Sienko 5/02/2021
Jackie Ellis Avatar

Their food has large portions, which is awesome for take home. Everyone enjoyed their dish.. The "whiskey" mule was great! Our server was very personable. The restaurant has a great vibe.

Things got complicated when it was time to pay, and they couldn't really accommodate us too well with splitting checks or using multiple cards. We had a group of 9, we didn't think it would be so hard. Just wish our server was more consciously aware of how large our group was. Maybe ask at the beginning how they can make the check out process smoother. We ended up being there for more time than needed trying to figure it out ourselves.

Jackie Ellis 5/01/2021
Yuliana Demid Avatar

When I read about this restaurant I thought “well, will try”. When we got to Chicago and were walking by, I was quite alert as the building looked so old, so out of the past century but very cute. We gave it a chance and it was worth it! Salads were so light and fresh slightly topped with a touch of sauce. Square noodles were covered with the most delicious tomato sauce we tried just like it was made from real tomatoes not the pasta sauce. Salmon was so tender and juicy in a butter lemon sauce but unlike in any other places it was with capers which added an incredible taste to the dish. Kids loved meatballs, they were also huge. By the way, never saw that big portions. We couldn’t finish it all although was sooo good! Treat from the restaurant was such a surprise for a birthday. We were filled not just with tasty food but with so incredibly pleasant emotions.

Yuliana Demid 5/01/2021
Morgan Andrews Avatar

I went yesterday with my team the service and food were 5 stars. My server was amazing, I can’t remember his name but he was an African American male. I will be back again and will be looking for him to be my server.

Morgan Andrews 4/29/2021
TenaKey Avatar

If your in Chicago you have to eat Italian. Especially when every bite tastes as authentic as it gets. I felt like I was sitting at my friend Anthony’s house back up north eating a home cooked meal made by his mom. The lasagna with the Bolognese sauce is highly recommended. And the cheese tortellini words can’t describe and The cannolis are made fresh in house. Michael our server was on point the entire night, our drinks and our bread basket were never empty. Thank you for making our anniversary dinner and our last night in Chicago one to remember.- il cibo era fantastico

TenaKey 4/28/2021
Alan Williams Avatar

Our expectations were exceeded during our visit. Our waiter, Victor, made us feel like regulars and old friends. ALL of the food was fantastic and perfectly prepared. We never felt crowded or rushed, having a family dining experience that we had looked forward to for over a year. We will return to the Rosebud every chance we get.

Alan Williams 4/27/2021
Jonathan Gerardi Avatar

Awesome restaurant with great staff. If you want some amazing Italian food, this is the place to go.

Jonathan Gerardi 4/26/2021
Beata Pach Avatar

We had our son’s Communion lunch at Rosebud Lemont yesterday and I cannot rave enough about how outstanding the service was! Our servers Joe & Matt along with all the Rosebud staff were beyond on point. They made sure all our guests had everything they needed and they did it with smiles. The food and service was spectacular. We will definitely be back again.

Beata Pach 4/25/2021
Daniel Santiago Avatar

Great food and service. Had the tomahawk steak and it was amazing. They have a great team of servers. Felt like family

Daniel Santiago 4/25/2021
Silvia Sifuentes Avatar

Amazing customer service very polite and very knowledgeable on their menu and restaurant history. We had the meat lasagna And pene a la vodka very authentic and delicious meals. For dessert we had the tiramisu I can honestly say it's the best I've ever had.

Silvia Sifuentes 4/25/2021
Vivian Prado Avatar

It was the best food I have tasted in a long while. We had a pleasant time there, great ambience and friendly staff. We love our Chef Benny he makes food taste wonderful!!

Vivian Prado 4/24/2021
Christian Salazar Avatar

Goooood lord this is amazing... red sauce 10/10

Christian Salazar 4/23/2021
Brad Cavanaugh Avatar

Had a bad experience a couple years ago, but decided to try it again. Food was better than I remember, but service was just ok. Everything took awhile and it wasn’t very crowded, so don’t know why that is. A little overpriced but still worth trying.

Brad Cavanaugh 4/22/2021
Gabby Y Avatar

The food and service was absolutely amazing. I was very pleased.

Gabby Y 4/19/2021
Jason Shintani Avatar

We sat out on the enclosed outdoor seating. The service was prompt and thoughtful. The grilled calamari was delicious! The eggplant parmesan and ribbon bolonganese were both good. It was a nice reintroduction into a more normal lifestyle.

Jason Shintani 4/16/2021
Ryan Sullivan Avatar

I was only able to stop by here for a quick bite walking north but I can tell this place is a heavy hitter. Since our time there was limited we split the (appetizer) special of wood fired octopus and it was absolutely delicious. It being a Sunday afternoon we chose Bloody Marys to wash it down and I’d say, although in the pricier side (especially void of any toppings) it was one of the best mixes I’ve had in Chicago (and I’m a regular consumer of them 😉). Can’t wait to stop back for a more formal meal!

Ryan Sullivan 4/15/2021
Kurt Jones Avatar

Good Food !

Kurt Jones 4/15/2021
William M. Avatar

5 star rating I took a customer to lunch. I have been to other Rosebud locations but never Naperville. I found the service to be exceptional. Nicolette, the manager, stopped by our table several times to make sure we were satisfied. She is very personable. Alex our waiter was very attentive. The food was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

William M. 4/14/2021
Michael H. Avatar

5 star rating Great year round outdoor dining location. Service and food were top notch and comfortable ambiance.

Michael H. 4/14/2021
Brett W. Avatar

5 star rating Phenomenal place!! Food and service is always excellent! Danny Levin is the best ! Plus the Linguine with clams! Super delicious! Highly recommended! Thank you.

Brett W. 4/14/2021
Dennis B Avatar

Amazing Food & Atmosphere!

Dennis B 4/13/2021
Gary Graeff Avatar

Excellent salads, especially the Mama's meatball salad. Good burger as well. Very big!

Gary Graeff 4/12/2021
Charles Frison Avatar

Oh my! This spot was so good. We were just looking for a place for breakfast and ended up here. Best breakfast EVER!! I felt like we didn't have one server, all made sure we were ok and checked to see if we needed anything else. Highly recommend and definitely a spot we're going to again when we're back in Chicago.

Charles Frison 4/12/2021
Charles Frison (Takhar) Avatar

Oh my! This spot was so good. We were just looking for a place for breakfast and ended up here. Best breakfast EVER!! I felt like we didn't have one server, all made sure we were ok and checked to see if we needed anything else. Highly recommend and definitely a spot we're going to again when we're back in Chicago.

Charles Frison (Takhar) 4/11/2021
Heather W. Avatar

5 star rating Food was delicious and large portions, priced well and the service was the best we've experienced while in Chicago. Highly recommended!

Heather W. 4/10/2021
Lior Keidar Avatar

3x Wow , amazing food, great dishes literally. Fun atmosphere

Lior Keidar 4/10/2021
Sofia C. Avatar

5 star rating I have wanted to go to Rosebud on Rush for years, like since I was a little girl- I'm 48 so this tells you I've been wanting to visit for a long time. I mean who can resist the cheerful bistro chairs and happy red and white checkered tablecloths that beckon you to zip in and enjoy the ambiance inside this classic Chicago restaurant? During the last weekend in March my boyfriend and I took an Uber directly there after some mid afternoon drinks at Gilt Bar. (Which is another establishment worthy of a five star review I must say.) I can tell you our visit was wonderful, sparkly and amazing, not just because the food was stellar and delicious but because the staff was incredible. My ex husband's family have owned Italian restaurants in the Indianapolis area for over 60 years so I have seen and heard firsthand what it takes to run a great restaurant, not to mention I've been fortunate to visit other fabulous restaurants all over the US and many places in Europe. I can tell you that Marco the maitre d', our server Francesco, the food delivery man Jaime and the busser and water glass filler Angel were an incredible team and made our experience so lively, fun, magical and relaxing all at the same. Sometimes you meet people in a restaurant and you just click- it was as if we all spoke the same language. People say there are 5 Love Languages...I personally have said for years there is a sixth love language and that would of course be food (pizza, in particular). Rosebud on Rush speaks the food love language fluently and effortlessly. I am not surprised they have been in business for over forty years and I cannot wait to go back!! Thank you to Marco's team for a night we will never forget!!

Sofia C. 4/09/2021
Estella Cohen Avatar

Excellent food and service!!

Estella Cohen 4/09/2021
Regina D. Avatar

5 star rating My son and decided to make an impromptu visit to Rosebud's on Rush after a day of shopping and walking Michigan Avenue. I was surprised there wasn't a wait, as it was Easter Sunday. There were plenty of seats, which made things much easier for us, especially since we're still socially distancing. Prior to placing our order the server, Salvador, served us warm, crusty Italian bread. In an effort to keep everyone safe, the restaurant serves the bread with olive oil and parmesan cheese which comes in individual portion cups, which I appreciated.I ordered the 1/2 dozen baked clams and sautéed spinach. Both were incredible? I will say, the clams were rather small, but I would have paid double if they were standard entrée-sized portions. The menu didn't offer an ingredients list, but I was tasting butter, onions, parsley, (maybe oregano), and bread crumbs. Once I finished eating my clams there was enough of the butter stuffing to use to sop the remaining bread with. The spinach was cooked with olive oil, garlic, and other ingredients I was having trouble identifying, but it was fantastic and the portion was generous. My son opted for the meatballs and French fries. He tends to keep things simple. The meatballs were gigantic and cooked in a rich, but velvety tomato gravy. I sampled a small bit from his plate and it was divine! I've always liked Rosebud's and will be returning soon!

Regina D. 4/06/2021
Joey Ortega Avatar

Great food and service. Veal parmesan,linguine and clams, and baked clams were all amazing. As was the House Cheesecake. I shall return.

Joey Ortega 4/05/2021
Susan Craigo Avatar

Food is always so good here. Also, this evening our waitress was very good.

Susan Craigo 4/04/2021
Rich Kiel Avatar

Fantastic food and even better server Joe. He is the server that ever asked for our names and spoke to us all night. Very impressive and warm

Rich Kiel 4/04/2021
Jonathan Prather Avatar

Delish as always. I am so glad to have my favorite restaurant open back up.

Jonathan Prather 4/04/2021
Geno B. Avatar

5 star rating The food and service was excellent. The Eggplant Rotolo was delicious. The food portions were large. The Chicken Vesuvio was tasty. The Tiramisu was phenomenal.

Geno B. 4/04/2021
Slavica Kutlic Avatar

Good sea food and drinks different than what was shown on the menu. Our waiter tried to make my drink 3x and it was decent but not what was advertised. I liked his effort, good job!

Slavica Kutlic 4/03/2021
Jimmy Perry Avatar

Absolutely delicious great drinks, food, service everything! Perfect!

Jimmy Perry 4/03/2021
Dan Holloway Avatar

We went on a Tuesday and had a really excellent night out. The atmosphere is charming and the service on all ends matches that in every regard. It's so refreshing to go out to eat and feel comfortable not only because of covid precautions but also because the staff is doing everything they can to make sure that comfort is attainable. Thank you! Hugo at the bar was wonderful and attentive- Adam, introduced himself to us as the manager, and made sure everything was meeting expectations- and of course it went beyond them. We had delicious cocktails in excellent tumblers- love a great manhattan- especially in a great glass 🙂 details like that are important to me as a diner. The meatball salad and eggplant salad are destination dishes and the vodka sauce is my favorite of all the places in and around town- add crumbled sausage, get the homemade square noodles- incredible. Don't forget about the skirt steak either. And also a shout out to our young bus woman- she was truly an impressive young worker! They have an awesome wine list too. (with nice glassware to match as well :D) Thanks guys, it really was a 10/10.

Dan Holloway 4/01/2021
Sharon Weiher Avatar

Great food and great staff done well with social distancing

Sharon Weiher 3/31/2021
Susan W. Avatar

5 star rating Probably the best pasta in the Naperville area! Good atmosphere and good service. Price matches the quality

Susan W. 3/31/2021
dusty gyetvan Avatar

Home made noodles. Perfect.

dusty gyetvan 3/30/2021
Lisa Maxwell Avatar

Best service and food in all of Chicago!!!

Lisa Maxwell 3/30/2021
Mauro Raddi Avatar

One of my favorite Italian restaurants in Chicago...Great foodBig portions...Good pours...Great place to meet people...VoteMayor Mar in 2023(I am of the People for the People of Chicago)...

Mauro Raddi 3/30/2021
Linda Sullivan Avatar

Great Service, nice atmosphere, and the food was delicious. It was the best filet I have ever had and the chef prepared Oscar upon special request. And the perfect ending were the huge cannoli. Thumbs up for sure.

Linda Sullivan 3/29/2021
Mauro Raddi Avatar

One of my favorite Italian restaurants in Chicago...
Great food
Big portions...
Good pours...
Great place to meet people...
Vote
Mayor Mar in 2023
(I am of the People for the People of Chicago)...

Mauro Raddi 3/29/2021
Shauna Santare Avatar

Typically, I enjoy Rosebud dinners but they need to work out some kinks with their brunch. First, the basement environment where we sat was dark and musty. The smell made me think someone cleaned it with dirty water. There seemed to be 5 servers running around but not a lot of service attention until the end of our meal when were asked 4 times if we wanted boxes (while still eating). The jumbo shrimp cocktail is tasty but not jumbo. I would not purchase again. The crab cake Benedict was very bland but the smoke salmon platter had a beautiful presentation and plentiful accoutrements. There is no kids menu but they do have kids cups. I would not consider Rosebud kid friendly, and our high chair was removed while we were still seated. (baby was temporarily removed) . Our 5 yr old enjoyed the pancakes with whipped cream and her pink lemonade.

Shauna Santare 3/28/2021
Jennifer Esch Avatar

Great as always! The heated enclosed patio was nice and had great views of the street and people passing by. Very romantic with the lights also. Food was so good with large portions.

Jennifer Esch 3/28/2021
Todji Thomas Avatar

Grapefruit excellent service if you're ever in Chicago pay it a visit

Todji Thomas 3/23/2021
Ricardo McCain Avatar

Downstairs could use a little sprucing up. Seem drabby but the food was good. Huge dessert but the whipped cream on my chocolate cake smell spoiled and the cake seems to have come out of the refrigerator, and not fresh.

Ricardo McCain 3/22/2021
Alex Two times S Avatar

I really love Italian cuisine. In this place I felt like in a small Italy, the atmosphere is very happy and energizing. insanely tasty and very beautiful. Grazie per il vostro servizio.

Alex Two times S 3/22/2021
Jiji Elanor Avatar

Nice place, kind staff and large portions

Jiji Elanor 3/22/2021